Leadership & Board

Dan Kuiper, Head of School

Dan Kuiper currently serves as the first Head of School in Valley Christian Schools’ history. Dan previously served as Administrator from 2014-2018 and as Principal from 1993-1997. A career educator, Dan began his teaching career at Valley Christian High School in 1983. Throughout his 35-plus years at Valley Christian, he has humbly served as a coach, faculty member, vice principal, and administrator.

In his first stint as principal of the high school, Dan oversaw the transition from the Tempe campus to our current high school campus location in Chandler. After taking a brief break to step back into the classroom, he returned to administration as the Vice Principal in 2011. Dan was then named the Administrator of Valley Christian High School in 2014. In his second stint leading the school, he oversaw the historic growth of Valley Christian to include record enrollments and an increased reputation in the education community of Chandler and Arizona. Under his watch, Valley Christian has been ranked a Top 50 Christian High School in the United States and has become a model for Christian schools across the country. Dan continues to oversee the historic growth and expansion of Valley Christian to include three campus locations- first adding a junior high and then adding elementary grades to become a full K-12 school. He also oversaw the purchase of an additional 13 acres to expand the Chandler campus. In 2019, Dan was named the Educator of the Year by the Chandler Chamber of Commerce. 

Dan and his wife Kathy have had three boys graduate from Valley Christian: Matt ’03, Jarred ’05 and Scott ’10. With the addition of the elementary grades to VCS, Dan also now has grandchildren attending the school.

In addition to his duties at Valley Christian, Dan has also served on the Board of Directors at Dordt College in Iowa. As a coach, Dan is the state’s all-time winningest track & field coach, having won 27 state championships. He has twice been named the National Track & Field Coach of the Year and has been named the Arizona Track & Field Coach of the Year 16 times over the course of his career. Dan is a member of both the National High School Coaches Association Hall of Fame and the Chandler Sports Hall of Fame.

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors of Valley Christian Schools are Christian leaders and believers who are committed to Christian school education. Their purpose is to ensure that Valley Christian Schools fulfills its mission statement: that students know Jesus Christ as their personal Savior, live like Him, and prepare academically, physically, socially and spiritually, so they are enabled to make a difference in the world. The Board seeks God’s wisdom and guidance that His will be done at Valley Christian (2 Timothy 3:16), oversees the strategic affairs of the school, supervises the Administrator, and ensures the welfare and continued operation of the school.

The Valley Christian Board of Directors governs with an emphasis on: biblically-based integrity and truthfulness in all methods and practices; strategic leadership; clear distinction of board and Administrator roles and responsibilities; collective rather than individual decisions; future rather than past; and proactivity rather than reactivity. To do its job effectively, the Board of Directors utilizes policy governance and follows an annual agenda that includes, but is not limited to monthly meetings, monitoring the Administrator’s job performance, and a systematic review of bylaws and board policies.

The Board of Directors of Valley Christian Schools maintains a size of not fewer than five (5) and not more than twelve (12) elected members. Board members serve three-year terms, and may be re-elected to a second three-year term. The Nominating Committee will properly screen and interview, for board consideration, individuals to fill vacancies on the board or serve as new board members.

The Administrator is the board’s primary link to operational achievement and conduct, so that day-to-day operational authority and accountability of staff, as far as the board is concerned, is delegated to the Administrator.

Read more about each Board member by clicking his/her name to the right.

2021-22 Officers

Scott Crouch
Chairman of the Board

Bob Davies
Vice Chairman of the Board

Mike DenBleyker

Melanie Dykstra


Tami Butcher

Ken Fechner

Michael Fraley

Michael Gauthier

Lani Hildebrant

Nicole Johnson

Denise McClain

Richard Suzuki